There is a reason I re post certain blogs from time to time. They have to include enlightenment, or a sense of how the business really works. This person (actress) has changed her life to make acting her life. Bringing her dream to reality. This blog entry is wonderful, and shows her opening up to the truth of a real career and making it happen. Beautifully written!

Katrina Perkins

Since childhood, I have a fascination with wolves.  Perhaps it was growing up always with rottweilers (earnestly loving their little bear-cub looking puppiness and the sweet protectiveness ours grew into) while my best friends’ parents were cops with German shepherds.  Or maybe, being an only child until the age of twelve lent itself to the independent, lone wolf mentality.  In fact, wolves are endangered, misunderstood, and loyal.  When I began in Show-Business, my fledgling actor self arrogantly questioned “Why does anyone need an agent, except because the system says so?”; why give ten percent of moneys earned, when I am doing all the acting? Silly girl.

Now, working full-time as my own agent (submitting for auditions), manager (creating a brand/voice), and publicist (contacting media), I realize – when will I have time to audition, not to mention act in the parts I will procure!?!  And…. create time to continue efforts…

View original post 226 more words

Do you have what it takes, to make a right left here... with a comment?

